Winter Wedding

November 11, 2009

So, yeah, eventually I’ll post more recaps. I don’t feel like it right now. Plus, I don’t have access to my photos at the moment.

I made a winter wedding inspiration board. And I love it. So, now I must re-do my wedding. Even though I hate winter. I love this board.

winter wedding

Sources: Bridesmaid Dress (David’s Bridal), Bouquets (Petal Pushers, photo by Forever Photography), Shoes [J.Crew (this style no longer available)], Hot Chocolate image (Bon Appetit), Ornament image (www.bettyschristmashouse.com), all other images from TheKnot

Now, for my imaginary, re-do wedding, I would keep some elements from my real wedding the same – like pretty much all of the same vendors, but I’d choose a new venue for the reception:

The University Club

I’d rent floor length white satin linens for the tables, use navy linen napkins,  and tie dark blue chameleon taffeta sashes around the backs of the chairs.

 The centerpieces would be a mix of low arrangements of baby’s breath and tall vases with branches and white hydrangea. And lots of candles! And some blue up-lighting would be suh-weet!

Since the University Club is a little pricey and charges a lot of extra fees (in my opinion), I’d use the local grocery store for a caterer ($9.99 per person for a two-entree dinner!) and serve yummy homestyle favorites like turkey and mashed potatoes. I’d also want a hot chocolate bar with toppings on hand – like whipped cream and sprinkles!  Mmmm…it’s almost lunch time. Moving on….

I’d outfit the bridesmaids in floor-length navy dresses.  One of my bridesmaids actually tried that dress on at David’s…and she looked pretty smokin’, not gonna lie. I’d buy them white cardigans to wear during photos and the reception.  The groomsmen would wear classic black tuxes, black vests, and navy ties. I’d still pick the same wedding dress again! Or…maybe this one from Essense of Australia…even thought it was out of my price range…but I fell in love when [I made the stupid mistake of] trying it on and didn’t want to take it off:

Oh, the dress that never was….the sparklies….anywho. Moving on.

I don’t know what all is in those bouquets above, but they’re gorgeous, and I want them. Roses…maybe some hydrangea and ranunculous…and what’s that gray stuff? It’s perfect! I would have the BM’s bouquets tied with a navy ribbon and mine with an ivory ribbon.

The cake? White fondant, navy ribbons…and some bling. Maybe snowflakes, not sure. How about silver and blue ornaments strewn about the cake table for decoration? Ornaments as favors? That’s practical! People can hang them on their trees and it will remind them of your wedding!  Well…that’s if this is a December wedding. It might be in January…or even February.

The programs and invites would have blue covers and be tied with a ribbon…I like the accordion style in the picture in the board. Very scripty, elegant font.  And a sophisticated monogram. And glitter. Can I have sophistication and glitter together? No? How about rhinestones? Ok, rhinestones.

Now, similar to having a Friday wedding, I would think that’d I’d still be able to snag a lot of great deals from my vendors.  No one really gets married in winter around here.  On the local wedding website there is a section of  “weddings in the next 30 days”. In the summer…there are dozens!! In the winter…maybe 10 couples.  Granted, that doesn’t account for everyone, but still, it’s clear. Summer beats winter.  And naturally so. Winter provides a lot of extra worries. Like, what if there is a snow storm and people can’t make it? What will I wear over my dress to stay warm? Where will we take pictures – will we still do outdoor pictures? What if I slip on a patch of ice walking into the church before the ceremony and fall really hard on my arse?  But, maybe it’s all worth it to have a beautiful, glamorous, winter wonderland wedding!!

 

Leave a comment