Meh

June 3, 2009

I received my ivory Dessy ballet flats in the mail yesterday, almost a week before I was told they would arrive. That was nice.

I wasn’t expecting anything SUPER fabulous, but I was a little disappointed.  First off, they had a strong odor of spray paint. Kinda weird. Secondly, they looked kinda dingy and dirty. Definitely not “new” looking.  I read a review somewhere of another bride who also received dirty looking shoes and got an exchange that she was happy with.

Also, I ordered a size 10, and the bottom of the shoe says 10 1/2.  The back has elastic in it, so they still stay on, but I definitely could fit in a smaller size.  They don’t feel very supportive, but I guess they are “ballet flats”.  They do have a little cushion under the heel. And the inside is very soft.  They’re wearable.  I’m just not thrilled with them.

I bought another pair of white flats at the mall from Maurice’s. They have an eyelet lace look to them.  But they might be too “white”.  I’m  probably going to end up taking about four pairs of shoes to my first fitting and making a decision then, when I can see all of the shoes with my dress.  If the Maurice’s pair doesn’t work, I may still keep them because they’re just really cute shoes and I could wear them with regular outfits!

I’m not going to bother contacting Dessy to complain about the flats.  It states pretty plainly on their returns policy that there are only exchanges and credit for future purchases, and only if the product is defective.  I’m just too lazy to bother with the hassle and I don’t think a cleaner looking, smaller pair would make me much happier. 

Have you made any online purchases that were a little disappointing?

Leave a Reply

