Birds

May 21, 2009

No, offense to anyone who is doing a dove release, but you could not PAY ME enough to hold a bird:

[Source]

I really don’t like birds. I’ll blame it on a few traumatic experiences.  For one, somehow, on two or three different occassions, we got birds caught in our basement when I was growing up. And they would then find their way upstairs. And terrorize me.  Also, I’ve been dive-bombed by birds while running. Several times.  It’s scary.  I don’t like birds. And no, I’ve never seen the movie The Birds.

I get a little anxious at weddings when there is a dove release. I’m afraid the birds are  going to fly out of the bride and grooms’ hands and head straight for me.  I know they’re trained and all, so it’s an illogical fear, but I still try to stand far away from the action.

The only type of bird I kind of like is the owl.  For the past week or so, Po and I hear an owl outside his window every morning between 4:30-4:45am.  He goes, “Who-who-who-whooooo!”  It always wakes up one of us, who then has to wake up the other, so we can sit and listen to the owl.  He doesn’t stay around long, and no more than 10 minutes later, the day-time birds start chirping loudly and we slam the window shut and go back to sleep.

Leave a Reply

