Starting the invites…

May 13, 2009

Ohhhh, the invitations.  Of course, we are DIY-ing all of the stationary.  I bought all of our paper from the Papermill Store.  Our envelopes I bought at Michael’s with a 25% off coupon. All together, our invites are going to end up being ridiculously cheap.  We are printing them ourselves on an Epson photo printer.  I don’t  us! Score!

Seeing as I spend a LOT of time looking at wedding blogs and websites, I have a good collection of inspiration pictures saved. And yet I’m STILL having a hard time figuring out what direction I want to go with our design.  Everytime I think I’ve decided, I end up losing interest and searching for new inspiration. 

Po is good with the Adobe Creative Suite, so he is doing the actual work, while I look over his shoulder and tell him, “No, make that bigger! That’s not the right color. Move that a little to the left. I don’t like that font anymore.” etc. etc.  Poor guy. He’s taking it like a champ though. And of course he has good ideas, too.

Together, we will conquer this invitation design! Once they start to take shape, I’ll give you some sneak peaks!

In the meantime, here are some of my favorite sites to browse for invitation inspiration!

www.mika78.com

www.wileyvalentine.com

www.finestationary.com

www.weddingbee.com A lot of those Bees come up with GREAT stationary!

 

If you designed your own invitations, what do you think was the hardest part of the process?

One Response to “Starting the invites…”

  1. Nikki Says:

    That’s awesome that you are designing your own invitations! So cute that Po is helping too:) I am designing our invitations as well (it is to be expected from a graphic designer)! I began designing before we ever became engaged. I do it for a living, so it’s kinda hard to avoid, lol. I’ve found the most difficult part of the process to be sticking with a design. I keep wanting to alter it and make it better. I just need to stick with it and quit perfecting!

    PS papermill is awesome! I got ours there too!


Leave a Reply

