Flower prettiness update!

March 18, 2009

I think my DIY project was a success! Here are the final results:

100_4490I made nine flowers total. It took me 2 and a half hours, and that’s including a lunch break. 🙂  The burning part was kind of fun. But if you aren’t careful, you can end up with this:

100_4488The wrinkling action happens really fast!  Hold the organza too close to the heat for more than a split second, and you can get a hole!

I think these turned out way better than the lace ones I tried to make. And they were faster and easier. AND these are way smaller, thus less obnoxious to wear.

100_4494I will give each lady the option of either pinning one to their dress or wearing it as a wrist corsage:

100_4493I almost can’t believe I made something crafty.  This project is especially great if you’re lazy like me and don’t have a lot of patience.  Maybe some people would feel the need to perfectly measure and cut the flower shapes.  Um, not me. Most of mine looked like blobs and were of various sizes.  I found making them in different sizes actually helped, because I could layer them with the larger ones in the back and the smaller ones in the front. 

And sewing on a ton of tiny little beads? No, thanks.  I used the pearls I already bought for my lace-flower attempt.  One each worked out just fine.

Oh yeah, and to make nine of these babies, I spent roughly…$5.  About $10 if you include pins and ribbon to turn them into wrist corsages.  I think ONE regular real floral corsage costs at least $10 from a florist. And then they die.  My flower prettiness can be worn again or at least saved as a momento!

Love it!!! Now I need to find another easy, cheap,  DIY project to try!

One Response to “Flower prettiness update!”

  1. pennylau Says:

    wow! nice work, they look really proffesional


Leave a Reply

