Fabric flower prettiness

March 11, 2009

I decided a long time ago that I did not want to use real flower corsages for our wedding.  I would still like to adorn the very important ladies in our lives with some flower-prettiness, but I didn’t want to pay upwards of $15 a piece for flowers that would be dead the next morning. I thought it’d be nice to make some sort of fabric or ribbon flower so they could have a nice momento to keep after the wedding.

At first, I contemplated ribbon roses:

from Etsy seller Paperhill

from Etsy seller paperhill

 

Then, I fell in love with this:

 

found here from here

I actually attempted to make these. I bought spools of lace for 25 cents a piece (!!!) and just kinda winged it.  They turned out OK, but I’m not 100% sold on them.

Then I saw these floating around the blog world:

photo from here

Last night I went out and bought half a yard of organza which I figured would be enough to make at least 9 flowers.  I’m gonna give it a try this weekend and see whether I like them better than my lace-flowers.  I’ll post pics!

3 Responses to “Fabric flower prettiness”


  1. ooh! when you try, post pictures on our message boards b/c i want to see!


  2. […] 18, 2009 I think my DIY project was a success! Here are the final […]

  3. Nikki Says:

    I am totally trying some DIY corsages like the lace ones with pearl and diamond centers you posted! I totally love it. Thank you for the inspiration:)

    Nikki


Leave a Reply

